top of page
  • Writer's pictureGunta

Royal Porridge | vegan


Hello everyone!

I know it seems weird to write about a...porridge... I mean, what's so special about it?! You boil it and you eat it, right? :)

We all know that oats are beneficial for our health and out of all the grains out there, they are one of the best to be included into your diet.

I honestly have love-and-hate relationship with oats... I love them! But get very quickly fed up with the taste to the point where I feel like I might throw up if the porridge is just plain oats...

So I came up with a nice recipe, where the oat porridge literally tastes like a dessert :) Hence the name "Royal" as it is just extraordinarily delicious for a simple oatmeal :)


It does have slightly more sugar than I would normally add (if I add at all!), but once in a while I think it's great to treat yourself, plus you can always add less or substitute sugar with a healthier sweetener of choice.

This porridge is pretty easy to make, tastes amazing, is vegan and gluten-free and makes a perfect comfort food especially in a cooler weather.


So here is the recipe:


INGREDIENTS

(makes for 2)

Porridge:

- 2 cups unsweetened vegan milk or water (I prefer to use 50/50)

- 2/3 cup rolled oats

- pinch of salt

Sauce:

- 2 apples, peeled and cut in cubes

- 2 bananas, peeled and cut in cubes

- 3 Tbs brown sugar

- 1 tsp cinnamon


DIRECTION

1. Bring the liquids to boil and add oats and salt; cook porridge as normal.

2. Place the apple and banana cubes into a frying pan; sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon.

3. Caramelize the fruit by stirring continuously. I consider mine done when apples are slightly soft.

4. When the oats are cooked, add the caramelized fruit.

5. Stir everything well and your breakfast is ready!

6. Now ENJOY! :)

If you struggle eating oats, I really hope you give this recipe a try, as you will definitely look at oatmeal in a whole new way ;)

I hope you like this recipe and if you try it out, please leave in the comments below your experience.


Love yourselves and love each other,

Gunta ♥

20 views0 comments

bottom of page